The foundation of all The Peace Center’s work on nonviolence is based upon Dr. Sandra Bloom’s work on Creating Sanctuary.  Creating sanctuary at home and in school is an ongoing, comprehensive process that will provide children with the safety they need to learn and grow into caring, nonviolent adults. Those four kinds of safety include:
  • Physical Safety
  • Psychological Safety
  • Emotional Safety
  • Moral Safety

Each of these will be explored under the “Parent” and “School” sections of this toolkit.


Not all hurtful and/or aggressive behavior falls under the category of bullying. 

        Bullying must meet three criteria:


1.  It is aggressive behavior that involves unwanted, negative, hurtful actions.

2. It involves a pattern of behavior that is repeated over time.

3. It involves an imbalance of strength or power, real or perceived.


Types of Bullying

1.   Verbal bullying includes name-calling, derogatory comments, and verbal threats.

2.  Bullying through Social Exclusion or isolation

3.  Physical bullying includes actions such as biting, kicking, punching, shoving, spitting.

4.  Relational bullying includes gossiping, spreading rumors, and lying. This is most common among girls.

5.  Racial bullying

6.  Sexual bullying.  Girls and LGBT teens are most likely to be victims of sexual bullying.

7.  Cyber bullying involves using social media to humiliate or hurt someone. It also includes stealing someone’s identity, posting intimate photos, and spreading rumors via text, email, Facebook, twitter, or other sites.